Awkwardness

Yesterday, Mark and I went to Baby Depot inside Burlington Coat Factory here in town.  I wanted to stop in and look at their selection, and get a better feel for baby stuff in general.  One word would describe our experience: awkward.  A friend suggested that we "try out" some strollers to see what we liked, so I picked out a black, gray, and red one and wheeled it around for about 15 seconds before I started feeling silly.  The whole notion of me actually pushing my baby around in a stroller is so foreign to me!  We checked out some cribs (I giggle when I say "cribs" because I'm imagining my little baby having his or her own little segment on MTV's Cribs showing off the actual crib), pack 'n plays, strollers, and diaper bags.  I'm trying to convince Mark that carrying around a bag with pink on it won't make him look like any less of a man, but that's a tall order to fill lol!  So, we found a black and red bag that met the simple requirement of being "not girly" and decided that we'd stick with something more gender neutral if we have a girl (at least for Mark - I'll probably have my own girly bag lol).  Still, looking at baby stuff is rather weird to us... even with all the great tips and advice we've gotten, actually looking at stuff on our own is completely new!  We've spent the last eight years as just a couple, so this is a major adjustment.  I've shopped for baby shower gifts at Babies R US and the like before and have felt totally out of place at those places, and now, even though I'm actually pregnant and need to be shopping for this stuff, I'm still experiencing the same feelings.  Yeah, I know, it's all in my head and I just need to get over it.  We're having a freaking baby, for crying out loud!  AHHH!!!!

I'm a tad over 16 weeks along now, and have about 5 and a half months left of this pregnancy.  It's amazing how fast time has gone by.  I'm pretty sure that my bump is an actual baby bump now... lil peanut is actually the size of an avocado now!  Perhaps I should stop calling the baby "lil peanut", since he/she is way past that.  However, I still like the nickname and will use said name until we know the gender :)

Speaking of gender... my very good friend Melissa insists that we're having a boy, but I'm fighting that prediction!  Thus far, I've had two dreams where we had a boy, so I'm fighting even my own predictions lol.  I have another ultrasound scheduled for this coming Wednesday, so I'm hoping and praying that we can find out then.  Oh, please, let us find out then!  I don't think I can hold out much longer... I admire the women who don't want to find out the sex until the baby is born - their patience is OUTSTANDING!  I'm more of an instant gratification kind of girl... I wanted to know the moment I found out I was pregnant!  It's cruel making us wait all this time.

I was hoping to adorn this post with a new bump picture, but I didn't really care for the ones I took yesterday, so y'all will have to settle for a video!  New bump pics are soon to come, I promise!



I hope to be able to shake it like this lady when I'm that pregnant!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Anniversaries and Eating!

It's a new me!

The Middle Class Struggle